49er UK National Championship - day 1

Day one of the 49er UK National Championship at the Weymouth and Portland National Sailing Centre and a very healthy fleet of 34 boats including boats from Germany, Finland and Ireland set out to Weymouth harbour in glorious conditions.

For once there was wind, albeit light to moderate with sunshine. Three excellent races were held all with different winners.

Overnight John Pink and Rick Peacock lead closely followed by Richard Mason and Tom Peel. The German team of Erik Heil and Thomas Plobel lie in third.

Seiko Challenge

At the end of each day Seiko are sponsoring a speed challenge. Teams have been invited to sail a 49er with the new rig and a GPS for 20 minutes. During that time their speed is logged. At the end of the weekend the fastest team will win 2 new Seiko watches worth £500 each!

At the moment Simon Hiscocks sailing with Rick Peacock lead with 19.5 knots.

49er - Overall positions day 1

Sailed:3, Discards:0, To count:3, Entries:34, Scoring system:Appendix A
1st49er23John PinkRick PeacockHill Head3.
2nd49er1023Richard MasonTom PeelRYC1.
3rd49erGER 111Erik HeilThomas PlobelFSC5.
4th49er16Dave EvansEd PowysRestronguet8.
5th49er45Dylan FletcherAlaun SignStokes Bay2.
6th49er1037Chris RashleyMatt GotrelStokes Bay7.
7th49er81Andy BrysonJohnny Clegg
8th49er892Tim SaxtonPete PereraGrafham9.510.08.027.527.5
9th49er940Justin VisserRyan VisserRYC16.
10th49er908Lester NobleLee NobleUllswater13.
11th49er1Simon HiscocksRob PartridgeWPNSA17.
12th49erIRL 1032Jogn DowneyRoss McDonaldRCYC15.
13th49er884Huw HumphreysSimon MarksHSC6.
14th49er997Chris TurnerAdam OvingtonTynemouth SC12.
15th49er934Michel MunkerOliver LewinKYC20.
16th49er747Josh WilceOlly WilceRutland SC11.
17th49er933Daniel HareJamie HareBlack Water SC19.
18th49er17Tom HeywoodTom PartingtonHISC21.
19th49er688Matty LyonsJames LyonsUllswater YC18.
20th49erRSA 628Jonathan HeathcoteSimon EastwellPYC9.518.0DNC62.562.5
21st49er681Simon EvansStephen CronshawDELPH SC26.
22nd49er519Chris GillJohn GillPYSC24.
23rd49erpowermanPeter LawranceMiles Blaver-MannParkstone22.
24th49erIRL 25Alistair KissaneRonan WallaceHYC23.
25th49er314Ronald PriceAmy CartwrightWeston14.
26th49er28Richard WilliamsIan SharpsRoyal Harwich YC28.
27th49er454Adrian StellJoe AdamsStokes25.
28th49er869Stuart UrquhartRichard UrquhartRoyal Findhorn YCDNCDNC12.082.082.0
29th49er859David HopperSteve HopperTBYC29.
30th49er107John HallMartin GibsonOxford30.
31st49er749Peter ThompsonNick BinnendijkTBYC27.028.0DNC90.090.0
32nd49erIRL 20David CopithorneTony SheehanSCCSC31.029.0DNC95.095.0
33rd49er746Craig PaulJohn PaulLochaberDNCDNC30.0100.0100.0
34th49er818Ben PatenRupert JonesRoyal LymingtonDNCDNCDNC105.0105.0