Barker wins National Keelboat title from Burling

Dean Barker and crew are presented with the National Keelboat trophy
Royal Akarana YC

A steady 15 to 18 knot breeze made the last day of the Club Marine National Keelboat Championships 2008 an intense battle between the top two crews, young Olympian Peter Burling and regatta-hardened Dean Barker from Emirates Team New Zealand.

The stronger winds today saw most of the Platu 25s including Barker’s crew come close to laying the mast in the water due to the excitable nature of these brand-new boats. The positions changed regularly during the day’s racing but in the end, Barker’s experience resulted in consistent placings and he and his crew won the regatta by 10 points.

Burling was second, after having led three of the four races sailed today, followed closely by the up and coming young Wellington crew headed by Josh Junior.

At the prizegiving, Barker commented on the extremely high quality of the competitors as a whole, saying ‘I think we might have to up the minimum age for America’s Cup sailors in order to keep our jobs!’

Gold Fleet Provisional Results:
14Dean BarkerRNZYS144111210
210Peter BurlingTYPBC811228620
35Josh JuniorRPNYC527492525
42Andrew WillsRNZYS236537826
515Erle WilliamsRAYC369744428
611Geoff WoolleyKYC493853932
713Laurie JuryRNZYS675689335
86Simon DickeyRNZYS10510366737
91Roger PaganiRNZYS9881075138
107Scott DuncansonOMYC7DSQ(11)2910101048
 Overall results for the Silver fleet:
117Rod DawsonRAYC211135
216Phil RobertsonRNZYS1ARB(6)2519
38Derek ScottNPYC3342210
419Chris BrodieRAYC4433814
512Jacko Van DeventerKIYC5977423
614Melinda HenshawTBC6599525
79Ross CurrieTYPBC7666725
83Patrick BaldiCNC107510628
920Glen JefferyRYC981041031
1018Sarah TootillBBYC81088933