Brisk breeze plays part on first day of 2010 World Splash Champs

Samantha De Schiffart (NED),2010 Splash Worlds - Day 1

Three races were sailed on Day 1 of the 2010 Splash World Sailing Championship held off Takapuna Beach, North Shore City (NZ), in brisk 18-22 knots breeze.

The gusty southwesterly and outgoing tide created a short, steep chop that was challenging for all, but benefited those that really have the ability to work a heavier breeze.

At this early stage, the points spread is close: in provisional results, 2008 World Champion Ben Lutze (NZL) holds a two point lead over Ben Sluijter (NED), after winning two races. Reigning Declan Burn (NZL) is in third position, with George Lane (NZL) in fourth and Jock Coppejans (BEL) fifth.

After the racing a note of controversy entered the world championship when a competitor was allowed to retain his placings, after racing with a non-standard sail batten. The item not been checked at the measuring, and will be replaced before racing again. It is understood that further measurement checks will be undertaken on the rest of the fleet, to ensure only supplied equipment is used in the regatta.

2010 Splash Worlds - Day 1

With the largest team and the benefit of local knowledge, New Zealand has claimed five of the top ten positions, Holland four and Belgium one.

Only ten points separate the top five, and 17 points separate the top ten, which means competition will be very tight between the top ten contenders, says spokesperson Helen McKenzie. 'Tomorrow’s results will start to give us an idea of how it’s going.'

Laura Hemingway (NZL), in 21st place overall, is the top female participant. Last year’s top female, Nienke Reina Jorna (NED) is two places, and four points, behind her.

A high approaching the country is expected to see today’s South Westerlies ease somewhat before racing starts tomorrow.
Racing today was held in two flights. Scores are combined and after three days racing the fleet is divided into gold and silver fleets for the final two days.

Current World Champion, Declan Burn (NZL) 2010 Splash Worlds - Day 1

The Splash Dinghy is a fast, modern single handed dinghy designed for sailors under the age of 19. Favoured for its ability to build confidence in mostly teenage sailors, the boat is a step up from the Optimist, and a precursor and training vessel for the Laser class raced by both men and women at the Olympic Games.

The line up at the 2010 Splash World Sailing Championships includes 73 youth sailors from 12 countries. New Zealanders have been world champions in the class in 2000, 2004, 2006, 2008 and 2009, and in 2009 New Zealand also won the Nations Cup at the Splash World Champs held in Europe.

Racing proper started at 11am on Monday 4 January, and conditions permitting, 13 races will be held, finishing on Friday 8 January, and followed by a prizegiving on the Friday evening.

Bart Sluitjer ((NED) 2010 Splash Worlds - Day 1

Takapuna Boating Club is organising the Splash World Sailing Championships, with support from North Shore City Council, SPARC, The Lion Foundation, Victoria Cruising Club and Yachting New Zealand.

The best spot for viewing is the beachfront reserve around Takapuna Boating Club on Takapuna Beach, where boats will be readied and launched from the beach each morning, or on the waters between Takapuna Boating Club and Rangitoto Island, from the first start at 11am.

Prizes will be awarded to the winner of the Open Splash Championship, the best female winner, and the country with the lowest total points from amongst their three best sailors.

Normal 0 false false false MicrosoftInternetExplorer4 st1\:*{behavior:url(#ieooui) } /* Style Definitions */ table.MsoNormalTable {mso-style-name:"Table Normal"; mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0; mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-parent:""; mso-padding-alt:0cm 5.4pt 0cm 5.4pt; mso-para-margin:0cm; mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:10.0pt; font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-ansi-language:#0400; mso-fareast-language:#0400; mso-bidi-language:#0400;} Splash Worlds 2010 - Takapuna New Zealand Results as of 16:04 on January 4, 2010 Provisional Overall Sailed: 3, Discards: 0, To count: 3, Entries: 74, Scoring system: Appendix A
RankBow NumberSailNoHelmNameNationalityGenderQ1Q2Q3TotalNett
1st032303Ben LutzeNZLM12144
2nd042594Bart SluijterNEDM32166
3rd011436Declan BurnNZLM13377
4th051836George LaneNZLM51288
5th112516Jock CoppejansBELM7121010
6th082589Mathieu de BYNEDM2641212
7th242591Michael KampNEDM2461212
8th062314Michael CateNZLM4551414
9th071840Chris SteeleNZLM3391515
10th272327Frank WoltmanNEDM6741717
11th091849James LittleNZLM7471818
12th262585Maarten KuipersNEDM6581919
13th222514Roald VerschuureNEDM41062020
14th562301Grant HamiltonNZLM96102525
15th481845Hamish PowrieNZLM12872727
16th022599Ard van AanholtAHOM101632929
17th142518Olivier BocklandtBELM16953030
18th682432Tyler RussellNZLM511143030
19th292513Alexander RijkmansNEDM91293030
20th501850O'Shea ButlerNZLM88163232
21st692433Laura HemingwayNZLF147123333
22nd202610Etienne Le PenFRAM813153636
23rd122596Nienke Reina JornaNEDF1116103737
24th401417Dylan WichmanNZLM1410133737
25th431820Bradley Taylor-SwanNZLM1114123737
26th282597Marc van HorssenNEDM1512113838
27th652317Hamish ThurstonNZLM1814114343
28th491848Curtis Taylor-SwanNZLM1711154343
29th25845Wouter HufenNEDM1313184444
30th612311Michael TurneyNZLM1217174646
31st722440Tyler HoganNZLM1315184646
32nd212611Svenja WegerGERF1019204949
33rd551879Rosemary SimNZLF1717165050
34th312519Mick van der MeerNEDM37 DNF985454
35th411418Melissa GibbsNZLF2515145454
36th102600Philipine Van AanholtAHOF1923135555
37th322520Samantha De SchiffartNEDF1918195656
38th332606Ina K. Berentsen KullmannNORF1527196161
39th152517Louise MaesBELF1624216161
40th381415James RobertsNZLM2018236161
41st592307David TurneyNZLM1823206161
42nd632315Jordan McKenzie-BrownNZLM2125176363
43rd672431Byron van VugtNZLM2019276666
44th662318Oliver ClarkNZLM2222226666
45th702437Annalise NixonNZLF2321256969
46th572305James ParsonsNZLM2120297070
47th511851Adrian WarwickNZLM2520267171
48th391416James AyrNZLM2426227272
49th421433Hohepa LewerNZLM2425277676
50th531853Joshua GardinerNZLM2627247777
51st642316Stacey WrightNZLF3322237878
52nd602309Sebastien MastersNZLM232137 DNF8181
53rd451839Daniel Foley-LoganNZLM2828268282
54th232587Marianne PijlmanNEDM2629288383
55th352436Fenn AndersonNZLM2827308585
56th521852Jessica HelmNZLF2734258686
57th742604Uitualagi Lorenz RipleyASAM2230358787
58th172608Cunrui LvCHNM37 OCS30218888
59th622313Marshall von KeisenbergNZLM37 DNF24288989
60th541856Joshua NiuhuluNZLM2929329090
61st361844Romano ChungNZLM3037 DNF249191
62nd461841Harris Read BindonNZLM2731349292
63rd441838Klaus OhlendorfNZLM3132299292
64th471843Liam Foley-LoganNZLM2931329292
65th752129Thirza HoffmannSUIF3528319494
66th342434Nicholas MahoneyNZLM3232309494
67th732605Mabelle HumrichSAMF3334319898
68th132602Tu\'iemanu Eugenie Alexandria RipleyASAM313336100100
69th712439Evangeline MastersNZLF323335100100
70th582306Thomas WottonNZLM3037 DNC35102102
71st192512Tokaputifara CharlieCOKM343533102102
72nd302506Myrna EussenNEDM3437 DNC33104104
73rd182607Ning HuangCHNM363637 DNF109109
74th371414Olivia EvansNZLF37 DNC37 DNC37 DNC111111
 Sailwave Scoring Software 2.02 build