Daubney ruled to have not infringed Anti-Doping

Simon Daubney, one of the best trimmers in the America’s Cup, has been found to not to have infringed the Anti-Doping Rules.
SailJuice.com

The International Sailing Federation (ISAF) has been informed of the decision by the Disciplinary Chamber for Doping cases of the Swiss Olympic Association, in the Case of Mr Simon Daubney.

The decision of the Chamber is that Simon Daubney has not infringed
the Anti-Doping Rules and that the Chamber has withdrawn any sanctions
against Simon Daubney.

Effective immediately, ISAF has lifted Simon Daubney's provisional suspension of ISAF eligibility, in accordance with the ISAF Anti-Doping Code described in ISAF Regulation 21. http://www.sailing.org/22055.php

On 27 September 2007, the following statement, attributed to Simon Daubney, was posted on the Alinghi website, following an International Jury Hearing:

(London, 27 September 2007) 'Yesterday I went before the five-man 32nd America’s Cup Jury in London regarding a positive doping test taken on 23 June 2007. While Anti Doping Norway did find traces of a recreational drug in the urine sample, the Jury found that there was no fault or negligence on my behalf. This comes as a relief to me as I have never knowingly taken a banned substance however, until this matter is completely resolved, I have resigned from Alinghi, so that they can go about their business without distraction. I hope to return to the team once my name is cleared.

I was found in breach of the America’s Cup Anti Doping Rules after a routine urine test taken by Anti Doping Norway on 23 June 2007. The urine sample returned a positive test for a recreational drug on 13 July 2007. Then the B sample returned a positive result on the 8 August.

I have been bound by confidentiality rules up until now and want to take this opportunity to thank Alinghi and my family and friends for their enormous support during this extremely difficult time. I have done everything in my power to prove that I have never knowingly taken a banned substance of any type and to this end underwent and passed a polygraph test conducted by the UK and European Polygraph Association. I am heartened and relieved that the Jury agrees with my contention that I was a victim of contamination and or drink spiking.'


Simon Daubney is now residing in New Zealand. It is not known whether he will re-join Team Alinghi.