Delta Lloyd Regatta - Big breeze sailors on a dramatic day

Matt Belcher and Malcolm Page in action during day five 470 racing - Delta Lloyd Regatta 2011

Delta Lloyd Regatta's racing went on late into the day with winds going as high as 28 knots. The Laser, 470 Men and Star fleet were the only able to brave the steep waves for a single race and in the Laser radial two races were sailed in breezes of 30 knots.

The RS:X men were allowed to complete two more races which makes them the only class of sailors to fully complete their schedule. In Women's Match racing, the quarter finals were able to finish and proceed on to the semi-finals.

The defending champion Tom Slingsby of Australia added a sixth win to his score and will enter the medal race Sunday with an 18 point lead on Bruno Fontes (BRA). The Gold will go to either one and Fontes is assured of a medal. Roelof Bouwmeester (NED) in third position can only hope for Silver or Bronze but the podium is out of reach outside the top three.

Bruno Fontes in action

The Laser Radial saw the come back to the score of early leader Annalise Murphy (IRL). The Irish collects two bullets and recover from her two false start disqualification. She narrowly slips in the last spot for the medal race but have lost all chance for a medal.

The medal race scheduled for Sunday will see ten different countries from four continents on the starting line, showing once again the universality of the Laser. All places on the podium are opened to the top four. Marit Bouwmeester (NED), will defend her title going into the medal race with a comfortable 12 points lead. Evi van Acker (BEL) who has placed third in the Rolex Miami OCR and second in the Trofeo Princesa Sofia Mapfre in Palma is placed second overall, the same position she took last year in Medemblik.

She has a chance for Gold but her closest rivals for Silver and Bronze are only a few points behind. Xu Lijia (CHN) is in third, one point away from van Acker. Tina Mihelic (CRO) who has progressed her skills in the breeze, is the last sailor who can aim for a medal only three points from Silver.

Iain Percy and Andrew Simpson (GBR) break their mast in the Star class but still managed finished the race. - Delta Lloyd Regatta 2011

The Stars suffered from the breeze and steep waves, the last downwind saw four masts snapped! Iain Percy and Andrew Simpson still managed to sail across the finish with a broken mast, holding the sail at arm length in the air! Surfing the wave of success, Robert Scheidt and Bruno Prada (BRA) took another bullet and are discarding a fifth!

They are going into the medal race tonight with a 11 points lead on Olympic champions Iain Percy and Andrew Simpson (GBR). Kusenierewicz/Zycki (POL) are conserving their third position but get closer to Silver, two point only from the Brits. The podium is opened to the top eight.

Taehoon Lee (KOR) has added another solid day with a second and a first. The Asian RS:X champion can only get Gold or Silver in tomorrow's medal race. He has secured a 17 points lead over Canadian Zachary Plavsic. The Bronze medal will be for grab by three sailors: Ricardo Santos (BRA), Thomas Boyard (FRA) and Wang Aichen (CHN).

In the 470 men, Matt Belcher and Malcolm page scored another victory to extend their lead to ten points before going into the medal race tonight. The score is very tight between the sailors ranked from second to seventh, and the medal race will be highly decisive for the podium.

Team Maclaren (USA) in action during Women's Match Racing on day five - Delta Lloyd Regatta 2011

The women match racers have sailed today their quarter finals. Tunnicliffe (USA) defeated Skudina (RUS) 3-1, Lehtinen defeated Abrahamsen (DEN) 3-0, Wang defeated Roca (ESP) 3-1 and Groeneveld defeated Echegoyen (ESP) 3-0. With racing delayed by the heavy rain, the semi finals started at the end of the afternoon.

There was no further fleet racing today for the 470 women, Finns and 49ers. The strong wind and rain prevented further racing. The 470 women, 470 men and Stars have the medal race scheduled from 6pm today.

The 470 women will be the first to race their medal race. The podium is opened to the top four. World Champions Westerhof//Berkhout (NED) are going into the medal race with a seventh point score but the Gold is opened to the top four teams. Palma Silver medallists Ai Kondo and Wakako Tabata (JAP) are in second place, in front Brazilians Fernanda Oliveira/Ana Luiza Barbachan (BRA) and Martine Grael and Isabel Swan, respectively in third and fourth position.

The Finn are racing their medal race on sunday. The podium is opened to the top six and defending champion Kljakovic Gaspic (CRO) will be under threat of World Champion Ed Wright (GBR) only three points away from Gold. Brendan Casey (AUS) will also aim for Gold.

In the 49ers the top four can get a medal Sunday but Gold and Silver will be within reach of the top three. Orrison/Rhodes are leading the fleet in front of Outteridge/Jensen (AUS) and Burling/Tuke (NZL).

The RS:X women will go into the medal race with six races sailed and Mayaan Davidovich (ISR) leading the fleet two points from Li Ling and four points from Jessica Crisp. The Gold medal will be fiercely disputed between the top three while the podium is opened to the top seven.

The 2.4 and the sailors ranked outside the top ten will race their last race on Sunday.

Top 3 results 24MR
RankCountrySail NrStart NrHelmsmanR1R2R3R4R5R6Points
1NED121Thierry Schmitter1111115
2GBR922Megan Pascoe22222310
3NED1127Andre Rademaker761233221
470 men
RankCountrySail NrStart NrHelmsmanCrew1R1R2R3R4R5R6R7R8Points
1AUS111Belcher MathewMalcolm , Page1733311216
2GRE16518Panagiotis Kampouridispapadopoulos, stathis51110638126
3CRO832Sime FantelaIgor, Marenic1361747328
470 women
RankCountrySail NrStart NrHelmsmanCrew1R1R2R3R4R5R6R7Points
1NED1111Lisa WesterrhofLobke, Berkhout2DNF1211415
2JPN415110Ai KondoWakako, Tabata1OCS3822322
3BRA18733Martine GraelIsabel, Swan41191134533
RankCountrySail NrStart NrHelmsmanCrew1R1R2R3R4R5R6R7R8R9Points
1GBR75Stevie MorrisonBen, Rhodes121695232327
2AUS29Nathan OutteridgeIain, JensenDSQ31221313135
3NZL11113Peter BurlingBlair, Tuke21327191341244
RankCountrySail NrStart NrHelmsmanR1R2R3R4R5R6Points
1CRO5241Ivan Kljakovic Ga1229139
2GBR115Edward Wright21414412
3AUS120Brendan Casey643433218
RankCountrySail NrStart NrHelmsmanR1R2R3R4R5R6R7R8R9PointsCrew1
1AUS1975411Tom Slingsby311011191118
2BRA17900711Bruno Fontes5341210169236
3NED19752017Roelof Bouwmeester1512561136441
Laser Radial
RankCountrySail NrStart NrHelmsmanR1R2R3R4R5R6R7R8R9Points
1NED2004441Marit Bouwmeester1239132125228
2BEL1975142Evi Van Acker2731614412440
3CHN17711757Xu Lijia966318237541
RankCountrySail NrStart NrHelmsmanCrew1R1Points
1NED10Rene GroeneveldAnnemieke , Bes999999
2AUS20Katie SpithillJessica, Eastwell999999
3BRA10Juliana MotaMarina, Jardim999999
RS-X Men
RankCountrySail NrStart NrHelmsmanR1R2R3R4R5R6R7R8R9R10Points
1KOR710Taehoon Lee258212122118
2CAN330Zachary Plavsic6391645411235
3BRA10Ricardo Santos44183814646655
RS-X Women
RankCountrySail NrStart NrHelmsmanR1R2R3R4R5R6Points
1ISR100Mayaan Davidovich26232413
2CHN70Li Ling111891315
3AUS150Jessica Crisp44153717
RankCountrySail NrStart NrHelmsmanCrew1R1R2R3R4R5R6R7R8Points
1BRA82551Robert ScheidtBruno, Prada3151421216
2POL841733Mateusz KusznierewiczDominik , Zycki103205133433
3NOR831721Eivind MellebyPetter Moerland, Pedersen4833865335

Delta Lloyd website