GP14 Championship of Scotland 2011

GP 14 Championship of Scotland 2011
Tony Lyman
GP14 Championship of Scotland 2011 was hosted by Annandale Sailing Club over the weekend of 11th and 12th June. The racing consisted of three races on both Saturday and Sunday.

23 boats ventured out on Saturday afternoon that started out sunny but as soon as we took to the water the clouds came in. This provided a nice breeze for the first race to which Dave Young and crew Seonaid Fleming (South Staffordshire Sailing Club) got a good start and kept the lead throughout the race with Andy Tunnicliffe and Chris Robinson (Royal Windermere Yacht Club) second Dave and Lynn Lawson third (Bassenthwaite Sailing Club).

As the day progressed so did the weather with a hail storm! The second race of the series (back to back) John Salomonson and Jessica Campbell (Manor Park Sailing Club) got off to a good start but soon to be challenged by Andy Tunnicliffe to the first mark and later Dave Lawson challenged Andy down the run and went on to win with John Beardon and Fergus Barrie from Annandale Sailing Club (the local competition) coming third.

A much enjoyed afternoon tea was had and an opportunity to put on dryer warmer gear ready for the third race of the day. The last race resulted in Andy Tunnicliffe first, Carl Jeffs and Steve Parker from Trimpley Sailing Club second and David and Jackie Gebhard from Derwent Reservoir came third.

As usual Annandale club members had put on an excellent evening of BBQ and hot/salad buffet with free punch, which lead to a few ropey heads the next day.

Sunday and there was a good breeze and we had an occasional appearance from the sun, the plan was all three races back to back so refreshments were sourced and out we went.

The fourth race started with local John Beardon leading but in hot pursuit was Andy Tunnicliffe and David Lawson, there was some close racing with positions moving around and Dave Lawson suffered some spinnaker trouble resulting in Andy Tunnicliffe first Dave Gebhard second Dave Lawson third and John Beardon fourth.

Fifth race Andy Tunnicliffe got a good start with Dave Lawson in pursuit, two good beats for Dave narrowed the gap but not enough and Andy secured first which also secured the whole series so he opted out and had an early shower. This race finished with Dave Lawson second and Carl Jeffs third.

The Last race had a false start with a general recall followed by the black flag going up so caution was needed. Dave Lawson and Dave Gebhard had a close race all the way with the wind picking up and the odd challenging gybe and the reach to the finish line was the fastest sail of the weekend. Race result Dave Lawson first Dave Gebhard second Carl Jeffs third and Dave Young fourth.

With all three races being back to back we were all keen to get ashore pack up and have lunch, some keener than others as they had a ferry to catch and long way to travel. Over to Ireland, Daniel & Gareth Gallagher and back to Isle of Arran for Angus Cambell and Gary Lewis together with Gus McLeod and Eric Borland, Andy Wadsworth and Helen Allen all the way from London.

Before the rain approached we managed to all pack up and attend the prize giving given by the Commodore. We shared the event with a National 12 event which also was well attended, many prizes were given out. Many thanks to all the volunteers at Annandale for organising a good event.

The top four places were (6 races 2 discards):
1st Andy Tunnicliffe and Chris Robinson from Royal Windermere Yacht Club (5 points)
2nd David and Lynn Lawson from Bassenthwaite Sailing Club (7 points)
3rd David and Jackie Gebhard from Derwent Reservoir (11 points)
4th Carl Jeffs and Steve Parker from Trimpley Sailing Club (12 points)

Full Results:
1stGold14021Royal Windermere YCAndy TunnicliffeChris Robinson(2.0) DNC)31.05.0
2ndGold14064Bassenthwaite S.CDavid LawsonLynn Lawson(3.0)1.0(4.0)
3rdGold14037Derwent ResevoirDavid GebhardJackie Gebhard4.0(9.0)3.02.0(8.0)
4thGold14089Trimpley SCCarl JeffsSteve Parker(5.0)4.02.0(7.0)
5thSilver13978South Staffordshire SCDave YoungSeonaid Fleming1.05.0(24.0 DNF)(6.0)
6thGold13478A.S.CJohn BeardonFergus Barrie(24.0 OCS)
7thSilver14090R.Y.A/South Staffs SCChris BrownEmily Cole-Evans6.07.0(10.0)5.06.0(8.0)42.024.0
8thBronze13945Manor Park S.CJohn SalomonsonJessica Campbell(9.0)6.08.0(9.0)
9thSilver13885Bassenthwaite S.CMike FairlambEric Smith8.
10thSilver13713Derwent res, SCColin MidgleyJustin Smith7.010.09.0(14.0)10.0(24.0 BFD)74.036.0
11thBronze13443A.S.CDavid RichardsonNeill Smith10.0(21.0)(16.0)
12thSilver13859South Staffordshire SCDerek FlemmingMark Fleming12.0(19.0)(17.0)
13thBronze13421BTYC SailsportsAndy WadsworthHelen Allen11.
14thSilver13124Castle Semple S.CDonald GilliesMatt Lanigan(14.0)11.0(18.0)
15thBronze13225ASCCarol BeattieJill Dobbie13.0(15.0)12.0(18.0)
16thSilver13439Arran YAcht ClubAngus CampbellGary Lewis(15.0)
17thBronze13736Castle Semple S.CArthur LoganIain Hardy16.0(18.0)14.0(19.0)
18thBronze14057Derwent ReservoirAnn PennyEleanor Gregory(18.0)
19thBronze14000C.S.S.CPaul O'NeilEuan Jarvis17.0(20.0)(20.0)
20thBronze13865L.Foye YCDaniel GallagherGareth Gallagher19. BFD)108.064.0
21stBronze13593Arran YCGus McLeodEric Borland20.016.019.0(24.0 DNC)(21.0)17.0117.072.0
22ndBronze14029A.S.CGraham HindAdam Firby21.022.022.0(24.0 DNC)(23.0)19.0131.084.0
23rdBronze12910A.S.CStewart MitchellJames Coles(22.0)(23.0)

GP14 UK Class Association website