ISAF World Match Race Rankings for the 22 August 2012

by ISAF 
ISAFLogo-WorldRankings 360
. .
The ISAF World Match Race Rankings for the 22 August 2012 have been released.

The next release of the ISAF World Match Race Rankings will be 26 September 2012.

There is no change at the top of the ISAF World Match Race Rankings with 2011 World Champion Ian Williams (GBR) holding firm at the number one position in the open rankings and Anna Tunnicliffe (USA) staying put at the top of the women's rankings.

There are only two events counting points towards the women's rankings, the 2012 Olympic Sailing Competition and the ISAF Grade 1 Lysekil Women's Match. Despite disappointment at not reaching the finals, Anna Tunnicliffe (USA) and Lucy MacGregor (GBR) hold on to the top two places.

Olympic bronze medallist and 2012 World Champion, Silja Lehtinen (FIN) moves up to her best ever position of number three, just 30 points behind MacGregror. Making way for Lehtinen is Claire Leroy (FRA) who slips down to number four whilst Olympic silver medallist Olivia Price (AUS) moves up to a career best at number five.

Tamara Echegoyen (ESP), who defeated Price in a thrilling final to win the first ever women's match racing Olympic gold medal, moves up two places to number six.

Away from the Olympic Games, the Lysekil Women's Match saw nine teams battle it out in Sweden. Camilla Ulrikkeholm (SWE) took the title and with it climbs three places to number nine.

Second place in Lysekil went to Alexa Bezel (SUI) at her first ISAF Grade 1 event and she subsequently moves up six places to number thirty. Mandy Mulder (NED) who missed out on Olympic selection to Renee Groeneveld took third place in Lysekil and moves up three places to number eleven.

ISAF World Match Race Rankings - Women - 22 August 2012

The top five of the open rankings have not changed since the last rankings release with Bjorn Hansen (SWE), Pierre-Antoine Morvan (FRA), Phil Robertson (NZL) and Keith Swinton (AUS) occupying number two to number four. Knocking on the door is Laurie Jury (NZL) who moves up one place to number six following his second place finish at the ISAF Grade 1 Sopot Match Race in Poland.

Another climber is Taylor Canfield (ISV) who took the win at the CMRC Grade 2 Invitational in Chicago last week. Canfield moves up from number fifteen to his highest ever ranking of number eleven. Breaking into the top 25 for the first time is Vladimir Lipavsky (RUS) who continued his medal winning form at the Grade 2 Seven Feet Cup where he finished third. Lipavsky has finished on the podium at all but one of the events he has entered in the past twelve months and moves up the rankings 13 places to number tweny-four.

At the ISAF Grade 2 Polish Match Tour Act 4, Szczecin Math Race, Rafal Sawicki (POL) took the win and in doing so moves up 14 places to number twenty-six. The highest climber in the top 50 is Japan's Watura Sakamoto who continues his rapid rise, leaping 113 places to number fifty.

A handful of Grade 3 events took place since the last ranking release including the Deutsche Meisterschaft Match Race in Travemunder, Germany where first place for Sven-Erik Horsch, who had not competed at a graded event since 2008, sees him return to the open match race rankings at number 396. Third place at the Tallinn Open Cup sees Latvian skipper Matiss Alvikis move up 379 places to number 366.

ISAF World Match Rankings - Open - 22 August 2012

v\:* {behavior:url(#default#VML);} o\:* {behavior:url(#default#VML);} w\:* {behavior:url(#default#VML);} .shape {behavior:url(#default#VML);} Normal 0 false false false false EN-US X-NONE X-NONE /* Style Definitions */ table.MsoNormalTable {mso-style-name:"Table Normal"; mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0; mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-priority:99; mso-style-parent:""; mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt; mso-para-margin-top:0in; mso-para-margin-right:0in; mso-para-margin-bottom:10.0pt; mso-para-margin-left:0in; line-height:115%; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:11.0pt; font-family:"Calibri","sans-serif"; mso-ascii-font-family:Calibri; mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin; mso-hansi-font-family:Calibri; mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin; mso-bidi-font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-bidi-theme-font:minor-bidi;}  
 Match racing - Open - Wednesday 22 August 2012
1Williams IanGBR 81112176
2Hansen BjornSWE 82211397
3Morvan Pierre-antoineFRA 83310707
4Robertson PhilipNZL 84410542
5Swinton KeithAUS 85510248
6Jury LaurieNZL 87610217
7Berntsson JohnieSWE 86610092
8Mirsky TorvarAUS 8819640
9Tiller WilliamNZL 81099442
10Ebler MadsDEN 8989001
11Canfield TaylorISV 815118973
12Gilmour PeterAUS 81218884
13Tarnacki PrzemekPOL 813138628
14Monnin EricSUI 814118538
15Lindberg StaffanFIN 81158493
16Ferrarese SimoneITA 818168466
17Reece JordanAUS 816168454
18Corbett ReubenNZL 817108199
19Sehested NicolaiDEN 822198024
20Bruni FrancescoITA 81917888
Click here for full ranking listMatch racing - Women - Wednesday 22 August 2012 
1Tunnicliffe AnnaUSADeborah CapozziMolly O'bryan Vandemoer81111576
2Macgregor LucyGBRMary RookAnnie LushKate Macgregor82111074
3Lehtinen SiljaFINSilja KanervaAnnina TakalaMikaela Wulff84311044
4Leroy ClaireFRAMarie RiouClaire PruvotElodie Bertrand83110997
5Price OliviaAUSNina CurtisKatie AbbottLucinda Whitty86510638
6Echegoyen TamaraESPSofia ToroAngela Pumariega88510565
7Barkow SallyUSAElizabeth Kratzig BurnhamSusanne LeechAlana O'reilly85310493
8Skudina EkaterinaRUSElena OblovaElena Syuzeva8749926
9Ulrikkeholm CamillaDEN 81298467
10Tulloch GenevieveUSAElizabeth HallAlice LeonardJennifer Chamberlin81088153
11Mulder MandyNEDMerel WitteveenAnnemieke BesAnnemiek Bekkering814117835
12Roca Mata SilviaESPEva GonzalezLara Cacabelos811107669
13Le Berre Anne-claireFRAAlice PonsarMyrtille Ponge81357049
14Dekleva Paoli VesnaSLO 817146806
15Bossard JulieFRA 81566766
16Hazard StephanieNZLSusannah PyattJenna Hansen816156702
17Souter NickyAUSKatie SpithillNina CurtisJessica EastwellLucinda WhittyOlivia PriceLaura Baldwin7916569
18Gonçalves RitaPOR 818166459
19Senfft JulianaBRADaniela Adler Pimentel DuarteGabriela Nicolino De Sá821166383
20Groeneveld ReneeNEDMerel WitteveenMarcelien Bos-de KoningAnnemieke BesMandy MulderBrechtje Van Der WerfMijke Lievens82016304
Click here for full ranking list 
ISAF website