Melges 32 Virgin Islands Sailing Series Champion announced

Melges 32 Virgin Islands Sailing Series, Caribbean Championship 2013
The first ever OtterBox® Melges 32 Virgin Island Sailing Series (M32VISS) championship went to Roberto Tomasini Grinover aboard Robertissima. Caribbean Champion Tomasini Grinover was accompanied by tactician Vasco Vascotto and crew comprised of Gaetano Figlia di Granara, Giovanni Cassinari, Gunnar Bahr, Armin Raderbauer, Pablo Torrado and Nevio Sabadin.

Second overall in the Series was Dalton DeVos on Delta with tactician Jonathan McKee, followed by Ryan DeVos with Ed Baird as tactician on Volpe in third.

The last day of racing concluded in the British Virgin Islands under simply gorgeous conditions. A beautiful 8-10 knots held steady for the teams to squeeze in four final races, in which the youngest DeVos, Dalton claimed bullets in Race Four and Seven. Other race winners included the BVI's own Mark Plaxton on INTAC who ended up in third overall at the event. Alex Jackson's Leenabarca championed Race Five.

Endless Thanks: The list is long, but it has to be said. PRO Hank Stuart and the IM32CA partnership with the Royal BVI Yacht Club was a match made in racing heaven. Sheer perfection on the course enabled racers to focus on going fast, so a huge round of thanks to the Race Committee for an impeccable past three days of racing. A very special thanks to Peter Island Resort and Spa and their brilliant staff for making the host venue the absolute best!

On behalf of the IM32CA, special thanks to Tom Geisler as his very steady hand at the helm of the Volpe tender, as without his talents the beautiful photos and media coverage of the event would not have been possible!

Dalton DeVos, Delta - 2013 OtterBox® Melges 32 Virgin Islands Sailing Series

2013 OtterBox® Melges 32 Virgin Islands Sailing Series Champion, Roberto Tomasini Grinover, Robertissima

Mark Plaxton, INTAC - 2013 Otterbox® Melges 32 Virgin Islands Sailing Series - Peter Island

2013 OtterBox® Melges 32 Virgin Islands Sailing Series Teams

Top three results (Final - After Seven Races)
1.) Roberto Tomasini Grinover/Vasco Vascotto, Robertissima; 1-4-1-2-3-[5]-3 = 14
2.) Dalton DeVos/Jonathan McKee, Delta; 3-1-5-1-4-[6]-1 = 15
3.) Mark Plaxton/Richard Clarke, INTAC; 2-3-6-[7]-2-1-6 = 20

Top five overall Ranking Results (Final - After Three Events)
1.) Roberto Tommasini Grinover, Robertissima = 296 pts.
2.) Dalton DeVos, Delta = 292 pts.
3.) Ryan DeVos, Volpe = 289 pts.

Melges 32
1.BowSail NumberYacht NameYacht DesignOwner/ SkipperRace1Race2Race3Race4Race5Race6Race7TOTotal
2.12USA 1215DeltaMelges 32Dalton DeVos3151461[6]15.0
3.700IVB 007INTACMelges 32James Mark Plaxton2367216[7]20.0
4.40PUR 11Smile and WaveMelges 32Jaime Torres5225524[5]20.0
5.74USA 174LeenabarcaMelges 32Alex Jackson4533175[7]21.0
6.18USA 180VolpeMelges 32Ryan DeVos6644642[6]26.0
7.113PUR 113SOCAMelges 32Luis Juarbe7776737[7]37.0
Normal021falsefalsefalseESX-NONEX-NONE/* Style Definitions */ table.MsoNormalTable {mso-style-name:"Table Normal"; mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0; mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-priority:99; mso-style-parent:""; mso-padding-alt:0cm 5.4pt 0cm 5.4pt; mso-para-margin-top:0cm; mso-para-margin-right:0cm; mso-para-margin-bottom:8.0pt; mso-para-margin-left:0cm; line-height:107%; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:11.0pt; font-family:"Calibri","sans-serif"; mso-ascii-font-family:Calibri; mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin; mso-hansi-font-family:Calibri; mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin; mso-bidi-font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-bidi-theme-font:minor-bidi; mso-fareast-language:EN-US;}