Star World Championship, day 1 - Brazilians on top

2013 Star World Championship
Marc Rouiller/StarWorlds2013
On day one of the Star Worlds, sailors faced tough conditions and high competition. Star sailors Lars Grael, John MacCausland, and Andrew Campbell battle to win the first race of the Qualcomm 2013 Star World Championship today.

The race course offered conditions typical of San Diego with the wind at 10 – 12 miles per hour from the West North West at 285° and three foot waves. The Race Committee set a Course three with 2.1 mile long legs and fired the first signal on time at 1230 hrs.

With five seconds left to the start, the Race Committee postponed the race to avoid a general recall as well as make some course and starting line adjustments. Shortly thereafter, the windward mark bearing was changed to 285° the second starting sequence began.

Second start had an individual recall and four boats were called OCS: USA 7294 Charles and Chas Beek, USA 8260 Bill Buchan and Erik Bentzen, USA 8306 Thomas Springer and Dave Wood, and USA 8361 Tom Londrigan Jr. and Rick Peters.

2013 Star World Championship
Marc Rouiller/StarWorlds2013

USA 8361 Tom Londrigan Jr. and Rick Peters filed for and were denied a redress by the Race Committee to have their OCS score changed.

Although the start was the key factor in sailing a successful race, competitors had to fight for a good position on the first upwind leg. The majority of the fleet sailed to the right side of the course and reached the windward mark without much separation.

Phil Robertson heading towards into the 2013 finals against Ian Williams

Americans Mark Reynolds and Hal Haenel were the first to round the first mark, followed closely by Andrew Campbell and John von Schwarz. The fleet saw several position changes throughout the first downwind leg, then the top boats began to sail away from the rest of the fleet. Brazilians Lars Grael and Samuel F. Goncalves were able to take the lead from Andrew Campbell in the second downwind leg after Campbell was penalized by the judges for violating Rule 42, and maintain their position all the way to the finish.

Quotes from today’s race winner Lars Grael:
'We started in the middle of the starting line and we were looking to cross the fleet as soon as we had the chance. We were in a good position, but teams in the corner on the right came off a bit better.
We rounded the first mark in fourth place, managed to finish the first downwind leg in second. Then we were in a good fight with Andrew Campbell, but it was a pity he was penalized (rule 42) and we got the lead.
In the last upwind leg we protected the right, so we decided not to cover him just do our best and it was good enough.

Our plan is to be top 10. We know it is very difficult to be top five in each race. The fleet is very even, we have a lot of gold star winners. The level is very high. We have to make a good average and not make too many mistakes to be in the top 10. That is our goal.'
Place#CountrySail# / SkipperCrewRace 1Race 2Race 3Race 4Race 5Race 6Total
174BRA8474 Lars Schmidt GraelSamuel F. Goncalves11
297USA8490 John MacCauslandPhil Trinter22
382USA8209 Andrew CampbellJohn von Schwarz33
462USA8362 Vincent BrunBrian Terhaar44
554USA8440 Jim BuckinghamAustin Sperry55
637FRA8237 Xavier RohartSerge Pulfer66
720USA8320 George SzaboCraig Moss77
829USA8129 Mark ReynoldsHal Haenel88
903USA8203 Brian LedbetterGregg Morton99
1092USA8323 Eric DoylePayson Infelise1010
1123USA8023 Mike DorganMatt Dorgan1111
1248USA8448 Carl BuchanJamie Buchan1212
1365USA8465 Augie DiazArnis Baltins1313
1472USA8072 Doug SmithMyles H. A. Prichard1414
1528CAN8028 Steven FleckensteinRob Mulder1515
1690BRA8390 Alessandro PascolatoHenry Raul Boening1616
1768ARG8268 Alejandro BugacovEugenio Cingolani1717
1851SUI8479 Jean-Pascal ChatagnyPatrick Ducommun1818
1980USA8082 Ben MitchellJulian Busch1919
2031GER8331 Hubert MerkelbachGerrit Bartel2020
2171CAN8271 Allan CullenDave Martin2121
2243CAN8143 Brian CramerCam Lymburner2222
2315USA8015 Donny MasseyIsao Toyama2323
2491USA8291 William SwigartBrian Fatih2424
2509USA7209 Mark ButlerJohn Rudderham2525
2684USA8484 Larry WhippleMark Strube2626
2798USA7620 Derek De CouteauJamie Stewart2727
2858SUI7929 Michel NiklausTyler Bjorn2828
2996USA8229 Tomas HornosJosh Revkin2929
3099USA8000 Arthur AnosovDavid Caesar3030
3135CAN8235 Mark PassmoreChris Rogers3131
3266CAN8466 Stuart HebbMike Wolfs3232
3383CAN8389 Jerry WendtBryan Milne3333
3441USA7741 Benjamin SternbergValentin Veytsman3434
3559BRA8459 Admar Gonzaga NetoAndre Serpa3535
3647UKR8247 Vasyl GureyevVitalii Kushnir3636
3785USA7985 Steve BrownErick Lange3737
3878SWE7978 Ingvar J-son KrookBenjamin Pettersen3838
3940USA6840 Chris WrightKyle Henehan3939
4057SUI8409 Christoph GautschiDominik Schenk4040
4188USA8088 Stephen GouldGreg Sieck4141
4221USA7621 Peter CostaJessica Costa4242
4363FRA7663 Guillaume RasseNina Aviles4343
4479USA8379 Bill AllenEric Beckwith4444
4589USA8189 Robbie HainesChris Barnard4545
4617CAN8017 Bruce LongPaul Cobban4646
4755USA8215 John ChiarellaBob Carlson4747
4825USA7425 Laura BeigelRead Beigel4848
4910USA8410 Mike PhinneyRick Burgess4949
5050USA8163 Jon PelliconiHenry Brawner5050
5195USA8065 Doug SteeleAndy Dippel5151
5256BRA8403 Frederico H. V. de LimaRenato Moura5252
5387USA8087 Keith DonaldKevin Elterman5353
5444USA7844 Foss MillerMalcolm Macneil5454
5581USA8187 Robert A TeitgeSam Eadie5555
5676VIE8176 Huy NguyenAndro Korlaet5656
5769USA8269 Jock KohlhasJohn Wulff5757
5853USA7531 William GerardBill Gerard5858
5967USA8267 Stephen GuntherChris Wurtz5959
6052USA8162 Chuck DriscollJim Oberg6060
6116GER8416 Hubert RauchKilian Weise6161
6277USA7977 Paul KresgeJon Kidder6262
6394USA7294 Charles BeekChas Beek67 ocs67
6460USA8260 Bill BuchanErik Bentzen67 ocs67
6506USA8306 Thomas SpringerDavid Wood67 ocs67
6661USA8361 Tom Londrigan, Jr.Rick Peters67 ocs67

Event website
Facebook Page