Tornado World Championships - Perfect conditions on day 4

2012 Tornado World Championships
Martina Barnetova
The third day of the 2012 Tornado World Championships was a write off with no wind on Wednesday. The race committee evaluated their decision again at 2pm CET but then cancelled racing for the day with not a breath of wind in sight.

On Wednesday evening the class held the Annual General Meeting. There was good attendance with the main point of discussion around where the class now goes and how we promote this fantastic multihull to new sailors now we are officially no longer an Olympic class. There was also some change within the committee with Roland and Nahid Gaebler standing down from their positions as President and Treasurer.

On behalf of the class, I would personally like to say a massive thank you to Roland and Nahid for their hard work and dedication over the past few years. Roland has been the figure head at the front of the push to regain Olympic status and put hours of his own personal time into promoting the class and boat he loves so much.

There are new horizons ahead with lots of keen sailors who enjoy sailing the boat. Jurgen Jentsch will now take over as President of the ITA.

Day four was the complete opposite to day three with sailors waking up to beautiful sunshine across Lake Garda and the wind building.

2012 Tornado World Championships
Martina Barnetova

The racing started at 1PM CET with race 6 of the 2012 World Championships. Clear skies and the famous Ora winds kicking in from the South to set up perfect conditions for the sailors. There was a steady 10 - 12 knots of breeze across the race course for race one. Of course in first place were Team Redbull followed by Roland and Nahid Gaebler who had a consistent day on the water. In third place were Nikos Mavros and Alexander Tagaropoulos.

The wind picked up for race two with 18 – 20 knots blowing but still the right hand side of the course being the best route as it always is in Lake Garda. The sailors who judged the upwind lay line best came out at the front of the fleet but others missed the lay line losing up to 20 places in the fleet.

Matteo Ferraglia and Lorenzo Bianchini who are currently sitting in second place overall were unable to start the second race due to a boat breakage which they managed to fix this evening. Again Iordanis and Kostas came out with another bullet followed by Roland and Nahid then Brett and Ryan who sit in third place overall.

The Greeks are now only one race away from winning the World Championships for the second time in a row.

There is a big gap in the fleet after eighth place but with lots of individual battles making great racing for the whole fleet.

2012 Tornado World Championships
Martina Barnetova

2012 Tornado World Championships
Martina Barnetova

2012 Tornado World Championships
Martina Barnetova

Normal 0 false false false EN-US X-NONE X-NONE MicrosoftInternetExplorer4 Results
NumberNumeroNamePointsRace 1Race 2Race 3Race 4Race 5Race 6Race 7
1GRE 7Iordanis Paschalidis, Konstantinos Trigkonis, Nautikal Club Thessaloniki6,01111-211
2ITA 8Matteo Ferraglia, Lorenzo Bianchini, CV ARCO19,0234514(dns)
3AUS 330Brett Burvill, Ryan Duffield, Nedlands Yacht Club24,03423-1093
4GER 1Roland Gaebler, Nahid Gaebler, MIX, KYC-NRV26,07537-1322
5GRE 11Nikos Mavros, Alexander Tagaropoulos, Nautical club of Thessaloniki32,0597-11434
6AUT 377Manfred Schönleitner, Georg Hirsch-Stronstorff, Union Yachtclub Attersee32,0468437(dns)
7SUI 228Martin Rusterholz, Simon Koster, RVS34,0-12862585
8CZE 686David Krizek, Adam Zdenek, YC LP35,06256-18511
9SUI 22Marcel Steiner, Jörg Steiner, Simpl53,08-121097127
10GBR 7Joe Bennett, Marko Reynolds, Felixstowe Ferry SC54,01011-1489106
11AUS 325Allan Gamble, Kim Nicholas, Nedlands Yacht Club76,091319-29111113
12SUI 232Jean-Marc Cuanillon, Michael Gloor, YCB / SCH78,021-2417136615
13GER 69Dieter Maurer, Maren Odefey, MIX, LYC86,011179121423-27
14GER 60Arndt Meyer, Manfred Syrowy, YCN89,0137121924-2814
15GER 100Josef Gunkel, David Gunkel, SCFF98,02018-251881816
16GER 205Stefan Lippert, Thomas Grassl, FCSS101,016161515-311326
17AUT 354Heinz Boehler, Markus Pinggera, YCRhd104,0-23102117122222
18GER 4Wilfried Jodorf, Ludwig Boecker, FCSS109,0-22222016151620
19AUS 305Paul Peterson, Jared Eyles, Nedlands Yacht Club110,01721232219(ocs)8
20GER 2Betz Markus, Betz Andreas, SMCÜ / RVÜ114,019191610(dns)dns9
21GER 99Klaus Rocholl, Sven Rausch, Lübecker Yachtclub118,028(dns)1814251518
22NZL 89Aaron Young, Robert Butterfield, Timaru Yacht & Power Boat Club124,0252011-30263012
23AUT 3Dietmar Salzmann, Arno Müller, YCRhd126,0151428282021(dns)
24ESP 211Jentsch Jürgen, Steimer Klees Sarah, MIX, SCFF/ CNSE133,0-33232726272010
25GBR 11John Ready, Matt Johnson, MYC135,02425262716(dns)17
26GER 947Guggenmos Wilhelm, Maier Alex, Segelclub Füssen Forggensee138,0181524(dns)322524
27GER 111Hayung Schodde, Björn Helmerichs, Wilhelmshavener Segelclub142,014(ocs)22dns231923
28GER 990Hannes Jantke, Philipp Wetzig, Segel-Club Salzgitter e.V.143,0272613(dns)dns1719
29FRA 294Jean Caron, Guillerme Nicolas, Yacht Club De Carnac151,0-31273023212921
30ESP 15Dominik Kopp, Florian Kopp, Segelclub Mattsee154,0323029201726(dns)
31SUI 223Laurent Béguelin, Mottier Frédéric, CVMC158,029-343124222428
32AUT 337Kurt Waibel, Denise Waibel, MIX, YCH170,0-34333225331433
33AUT 269Jens Haefner, Stefan Neussl, ÖSV178,03031372134(ocs)25
34SUI 226Gudrun Kolb, Dylan Teal, MIX, SCRG182,03529-3631282732
35ESP 1Antonio Bolado Cantera, Aurelio Martínez Gutiérrez, Real Club Maritimo De Santande192,0-37353533293129
36AUT 371Harald Breitfuss, Anna Breitfuss, MIX, SYC192,0-36323432303331
37GBR 403barry arnison, Nicole Davy Burton, MIX, gratham water211,0-38373335363535
38ITA 25Lorenzo Sclavi, Paolo Reggio, yacht club italiano213,02628(dns)dnsdns36dns
39GER 1103Jochen Seifert, Dusi Barske, Augsburger Segler-Club, Royal214,0(dnf)36dnf34353434
40SUI 229Christian Manz, Artur von Scala, SIMPL226,0(dns)dnsdnsdnsdns3230
/* Style Definitions */ table.MsoNormalTable {mso-style-name:"Table Normal"; mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0; mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-priority:99; mso-style-qformat:yes; mso-style-parent:""; mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt; mso-para-margin-top:0in; mso-para-margin-right:0in; mso-para-margin-bottom:10.0pt; mso-para-margin-left:0in; line-height:115%; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:11.0pt; font-family:"Calibri","sans-serif"; mso-ascii-font-family:Calibri; mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin; mso-fareast-font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-fareast; mso-hansi-font-family:Calibri; mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin; mso-bidi-font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-bidi-theme-font:minor-bidi;}
Tornado Championships website