Yachting NZ announce Excellence Awards Finalists and Winners

2009 Sailor of the Year Winners Brad Jackson and Stu Bannatyne with the Sir Bernard Fergusson Trophy - Yachting Excellence Awards
Yachting NZ

Yachting New Zealand has announced the 2011 Award winners and category finalists for the esteemed Yachting Excellence Awards.

The big winner, 2011 Singapore Airlines Sailor of the Year, will be revealed at the 2011 Yachting Excellence Awards Presentation and Gala Dinner on the evening of Friday 28th October at the Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron in Auckland.

The historic Sir Bernard Fergusson Trophy, engraved with a long list of New Zealand’s big names in yachting, will be presented and category sponsor Singapore Airlines will be there to hand over an exciting travel prize. Tickets are on sale now.

2011 Young Sailor of the Year and 2011 Coach/Official of the Year will also be announced on the night, from a list of finalists named below. The winner of Young Sailor and Coach/Official will be presented with a prize from category sponsor Orbit Travel Auckland.

Ten Performance Awards, ten Service Awards, two Cruising Awards and the winner of the 2011 Emerging Talent Award have been announced today.

'This year’s Gala Dinner is shaping up to be an exciting event,' says Yachting New Zealand Chief Executive, David Abercrombie. 'It’s terrific to see the sport’s hard workers and high achievers rewarded for their efforts, they deserve to be congratulated.'

Great spot prizes are up for grabs on the night including a two night accommodation package for two from Millenium Hotels and Resorts, subscriptions to Boating New Zealand magazine, Harken gear bags and more.

2011 Excellence Awards Awardees and Category Finalists include... 2011 Performance AwardsJon-Paul Tobin, Takapuna Boating Club Sara Winther, Takapuna Boating Club Andrew Murdoch, Kerikeri Cruising Club Sam Meech, Tauranga Yacht & Powerboat Club Jo Aleh and Olivia Powrie, Takapuna Boating Club Peter Burling and Blair Tuke, Tauranga Yacht & Powerboat Club and Kerikeri Cruising Club Scott Leith, Pupuke Boating Club Waka Racing, Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron Taylor Burn, Queen Charlotte Yacht Club Bianca Barbarich-Bacher, Murrays Bay Sailing Club 2011 Young Sailor of the Year FinalistsIn association with Orbit Travel, Auckland Sam Meech, Tauranga Yacht & Powerboat Club Peter Burling, Tauranga Yacht & Powerboat ClubTaylor Burn, Queen Charlotte Yacht ClubAlexandra Maloney, Murrays Bay Sailing Club 2011 Emerging Talent Award WinnerLeonard Takahashi-Fry, Murrays Bay Sailing Club 2011 Service AwardsPhil Galloway, Mount Pleasant Yacht ClubKaty and Mark Kenah, Napier Sailing Club David Whytock, Timaru Yacht & Powerboat ClubMark Mulcare, Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron Ted Frankham, Wakatere Boating ClubAlan Garbutt, Ravensbourne Boating Club Stuart Burrough, Queen Charlotte Yacht Club Gerald Flynn, Peter McKeogh and Neil Harris, RNZYSTim Sandall, Napier Sailing ClubAlan Poore, Charteris Bay Yacht Club 2011 Coach/Official of the Year Finalists In association with Orbit Travel, AucklandCharles Baillie-Strong, Wakatere Boating Club  John Bullot, Murrays Bay Sailing Club Bob McDavitt, Cruising and Navigation Association of New Zealand Chris Steele, Wakatere Boating Club 2011 Cruising AwardsTS Talisman, New Zealand Cadet Forces Danny and Yvonne Simms, Mangonui Cruising ClubOrder your tickets now... Tickets to attend the 2011 Yachting Excellence Awards on Friday October 28th cost $110 per person and can be purchased from Yachting New Zealand. Get your ticket order form in now to avoid disappointment.