Zerorh+ Top Dog Trophy Series - 3 x 11 emerges victorious

2014 HKRNVR Memorial Vase
The last race of the 2013-2014 zerorh+ Top Dog Trophy Series took place today in Hong Kong. Going into the HKRNVR Memorial Vase, 3 x 11 was only five points clear of fellow Etchells 1364, so there was everything to play for.

The weather gods came to the party, offering competitors nine to 15kts of easterly breeze and even some sunshine, encouraging Race Officer Gareth Williams to set the longest course available and treat the fleet to a Shek O Rock rounding, before returning to Victoria Harbour through Lei Yue Mun.

The Flying Fifteens, with Tchaikoffsky sitting third overall, reached the head of the fleet by Shek O, and did not relinquish their superiority for the remainder of the race. Tchaikoffsky took the gun, with Tomffoollery second, and it was not until sixth place that Etchells Easy Tiger broke the ‘Fifteen’s stranglehold on results.

Once the numbers were run, Jimmy Farquhar on 3 x 11 emerged as a worthy winner of the Top Dog Trophy, with Tchaikoffsky 11 points behind, taking second only 1.6 points ahead of Frank van Kempen’s Etchells, 1364.

At the prizegiving, refreshed by Veuve Cliquot and Stella Artois, the RO presented the prizes for today’s event and for the overall zerorh+ Top Dog Trophy Series.

2014 HKRNVR Memorial Vase

2014 HKRNVR Memorial Vase

HKRNVR Results 1st Inshore Keelboat Buster Nick Bryan                    1st Day Boat Squiffy Joe Nelson                   1st Big Boat HuaAn Davy Li / Dominic Law     3rd Place Kerfuffle Carlyon Knight-Evans 2nd Place Tomffoollery Tom Sheppard  1st Place and HKRNVR Memorial Vase                          Tchaikoffsky                 Howard Williams Top Dog Trophy – Top 10
Boat NameClassSailNo.HelmPtsPlace
3 x 11Etchells787Jimmy Farquhar21.1951
TchaikoffskyFlying Fifteen3981Howard Williams32.2782
1364Etchells1364Frank van Kempen33.8463
Ffreefire 90Flying Fifteen3990Nick Atkinson47.7344
AmbushIRC 12208Isler / Taylor48.0145
HuaAnIRC 12201Dominic Law53.1016
FreelanceEtchells1339L Mead63.5247
Dream OnEtchells1269Mark Thornburrow67.5058
TaxiImpala1047Dennis Chien71.7899
Easy TigerEtchells884Simon Watson75.08810
 Normal0falsefalsefalseEN-USX-NONEX-NONE/* Style Definitions */ table.MsoNormalTable {mso-style-name:"Table Normal"; mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0; mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-priority:99; mso-style-parent:""; mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt; mso-para-margin-top:0in; mso-para-margin-right:0in; mso-para-margin-bottom:8.0pt; mso-para-margin-left:0in; line-height:107%; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:11.0pt; font-family:"Calibri","sans-serif"; mso-ascii-font-family:Calibri; mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin; mso-hansi-font-family:Calibri; mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;}
Full details of the zerorh+ Top Dog Trophy Series, including final standings, can be found on the RHKYC website.